In Slovakia, the football championship, known as the Fortuna Liga, was established in 1993 after the country’s independence. Since then, two clubs have shared the top flight. These are Slovan Bratislava, Slovakia’s most successful club in history, and MŠK Žilina, which enjoyed a boom period in the 2000s.

Football Match Slovakia


The championship is contested in two phases. The twelve best Slovak teams meet twice in the first phase. At the end of this phase, the twelve teams are divided into two groups, the first six play for the title and the last six for the relegation group. The teams meet again twice and the points from both phases are accumulated. In addition, the team with the most points at the end of the two phases is crowned champion and qualifies for the Champions League. The 2nd, 3rd and winner of the Slovak Cup go to the Europa League. Finally, the last one is relegated to the second division. The 11th plays a return play-off match to try to hold on.



If you wish to have more information, you can send us a message in the Contact page or on Instagram.